Tom Brady Nominated For Three ESPY Awards

Tom Brady will have three shots at having the spotlight of the sports world shined on him.

The Patriots quarterback is nominated for three ESPY Awards as the event is set to take place on July 18 in Los Angeles. Per ESPN, Brady is up for Best Male Athlete, Best Record Breaking Performance and Best NFL Player. No other member of the Patriots or the team as a whole was nominated for an award

This is the third time that Brady has been nominated for Best Male Athlete and will be competing with three first time nominees this year in Alexander Ovechkin, James Harden and Jose Altuve. For the Best Record-Breaking Performance, it would be the first time in his career that Brady’s been honored with the award.

As for who he will be squaring off against in the Best NFL Player category, he’s looking at Rams running back Todd Gurley, Steelers wide out Antonio Brown and Rams pass rusher Aaron Donald.

Of course, Brady is coming off a 2017 season where he was able to win his third MVP award of his career. During the 2017 campaign, Brady was able to throw for a league leading 4,577 yards and 32 touchdowns, while also competing 66.3 percent of his passes, the third highest mark of his career. He also was able to do all that at 40-years old. His league lead in passing also makes him the older player in history to accomplish such a feat.

It’s unclear if Brady will attend the award show or simply record a video acceptance speech in the event he wins one or multiple awards on the night. If those speeches are anything like his MVP one, Brady will likely push the credit towards his teammates and coaches and scope it as a team award rather than anything individual.

Last year, Super Bowl LI won best game, which, of course, featured New England’s 25-point comeback against the Falcons and over time victory. Brady was also nominated for Best NFL Player and Best Championship Performance last year, but lost out to Aaron Rodgers and Kevin Durant respectively. The Patriots also lost out to the Golden State Warriors for Best Team last year.

The winners will be decided by fan vote and polls are currently open, so if you’d like to see Brady bring home some hardware, click here.

This year’s ESPY’s will be hosted by retired NACAR driver Danica Patrick. Meanwhile, it’s already been announced that the Arthur Ashe Courage Award will be given to the past and present athletes, including Massachusetts native Aly Raisman, who spoke out against ex-United States gymnastics and Michigan State doctor Larry Nassar.

The 2018 ESPY’s will air live on ABC on July 18 at 8:00 p.m. EST.